Château Guy de Wendel

Château Guy de Wendel, then known as Château de Tournebride, was built by Guy de Wendel (1878–1955), son of Robert de Wendel (1847–1903), in 1906.

HISTORY OF THE CHÂTEAU

 

The château has grounds totalling 4.3 ha. It featured fountains, lakes, greenhouses and a vertical garden. Rare trees were planted here.

The interior of the château was noted for its woodwork and marble fireplaces.

The château was until 1978 the home of Ségolène de Wendel, the last representative of a family that had reigned over Hayange for 274 years.

Guy de Wendel

THE WENDEL FAMILY

 

The Wendels are a family of ironmasters whose history is closely linked not only to Lorraine, but also to France’s industrial heritage, and the founder of an international steel group.

Originally from Bruges, Jean-Martin de Wendel (1665–1737) moved to Hayange in 1704. He was followed by eight generations of ironmasters, who were often involved in local and national politics. François (1778–1825) in particular was the local member of parliament and chairman of Moselle Council. His son Charles (1809–1870) was the member of parliament for Moselle under Napoleon III. His son Henri (1844–1906) was a reluctant member of parliament at the Reichstag during the German occupation. Henri’s son François (1874–1949) is the dynasty’s figurehead: ironmaster, senator, councillor, chairman of the ironmaster committee and regent of the Bank of France. He is the father of the Countess of Mitry (1907–1976), whose name has been given to a tennis trophy still played for during Hayange Tennis Club’s annual tournament.

The family lived in Château de Hayange, now partially demolished, not far from the imposing central office. One of Henri’s nephews, Guy de Wendel (1878–1955), senator and chairman of Moselle Council, commissioned a château in 1906, which would be lived in by his niece, Ségolène de Wendel (1908–1981), who played an important role in the Résistance and was an essential source of support for the many locals forced to flee.

The château is now a hotel, restaurant and business centre. "Dame du Fer" refers to another key figure of the Wendel dynasty: Marguerite d’Hausen (1718–1802), wife of Charles de Wendel (1708–1784), Jean-Martin's son, who ran family affairs during the Revolution, was stripped of her wealth during the Reign of Terror and died in poverty in Metz. She is remembered as "Madame d’Hayange", the Iron Lady. In 2004, an exhibition celebrating three centuries of Wendel family history was held first at the Musée d’Orsay in Paris followed by Salle Molitor in Hayange and was attended by several relatives, some of whom have stayed true to their Lorraine roots and still live in our region.

Le Château Guy de Wendel

Le Château Guy de Wendel, encore appelé Le Château du Tournebride, a été construit en 1906 par Guy de Wendel (1878-1955), fils de Robert de Wendel (1847-1903).

L’histoire du château

 

Le château possède un parc, totalisant 4,3 ha. On y admirait des fontaines, des bassins, des serres, un jardin suspendu. Des arbres aux essences rares y furent plantés.

L'intérieur du château fut doté de boiseries et de cheminées en marbre.

Le Château fut habité jusqu'en 1978 par Ségolène de Wendel, dernière représentante de la famille qui avait régné sur Hayange pendant 274 ans.

Guy de Wendel

La famille de Wendel

 

La famille de Wendel est une famille de maîtres de forges dont l’histoire est indissociable non seulement de celle de la Lorraine, mais également de l’histoire industrielle de la France, créatrice d’un groupe sidérurgique de dimension internationale.

Originaires de Bruges, les Wendel, en la personne de Jean-Martin de Wendel (1665-1737), se sont installés à Hayange en 1704. Lui ont succédé huit générations de maîtres de forges, souvent impliquées dans la politique lorraine et nationale. François (1778-1825) fut en particulier député et président du conseil général de la Moselle. Son fils, Charles (1809-1870) , fut député mosellan sous Napoléon III. Le fils de ce dernier, Henri (1844-1906), fut député contestataire au Reichstag sous l’occupation allemande. Le fils d’Henri, François (1874-1949), est le personnage emblématique ce cette dynastie : maître de forges, sénateur, conseiller général, président du comité des Forges, régent de la banque de France. Il est le père de la comtesse de Mitry (1907-1976), dont le nom est attribué à une coupe de tennis, de nos jours toujours disputée chaque année lors du tournoi du Tennis-Club d’Hayange.

La famille vivait au château d’Hayange, partiellement démoli, non loin de l’imposant bureau central. Un neveu d’Henri, Guy de Wendel (1878-1955), sénateur et président du conseil général de la Moselle, fit construire en 1906 un château, qu’habita par la suite sa nièce, Ségolène de Wendel (1908-1981), qui joua un rôle important pendant la Résistance et fut un soutien essentiel pour de nombreux lorrains condamnés à l’exode.

Ce château est devenu aujourd’hui hôtel, restaurant et centre d’affaires. La référence à « la Dame du fer » concerne un autre personnage clé de la dynastie Wendel : Marguerite d’Hausen (1718-1802), épouse de Charles de Wendel (1708-1784), le fils de Jean-Martin, qui dirigea les affaires familiales pendant la Révolution, fut expropriée sous la Terreur et mourut dans la misère à Metz. Elle demeure dans la mémoire collective « Madame d’Hayange », la Dame de fer. En 2004, une exposition célébrant le tricentenaire de cette saga familiale eut lieu au musée d’Orsay à Paris puis à la salle Molitor à Hayange, en présence de nombreux membres de cette famille dont certains sont restés fidèles à leurs racines lorraines et vivent toujours dans notre région.